Friday, 26 September 2008

Is Kosher halal? the question form Muslim consumers

Often times Muslim consumers tend to assume 'Kosher' is similar to 'Halal'. Although the slaughtering rituals of Jewish people resemble those of Muslims; kosher and halal are two different entities carrying a different meaning and spirit. Muslims, therefore, are provided with the following basic information about Kosher so they can exercise care in distinguishing halal from kosher.

Kashrut (in Hebrew) is the system of Jewish dietary laws. Kosher (kashur in Hebrew) means 'fit, or proper for use' according to Jewish law. Examples of kosher are: the meat of the 'fore quarter*' of the cattle slaughtered ritually, fruits, vegetables, all fish that have fins*, all wines*, all cheeses*, gelatin*.

The opposite of Kosher, as applied to food in Treif (in Yiddish), or trefah (in Hebrew) meaning 'not suitable for use', or 'forbidden'. Trefah literally means 'torn by a wild beast' (Exodus 22:30). Examples of Trefah are: blood, swine, rabbit*, all shell fish*, wild birds such as wild hen*, wild duck*, and the birds of prey.

(*) These food items exhibit a marked difference between kosher and Halal as well as trefah and haram. The differences are explained elsewhere in this section.

Caution to Muslim Consumers:

Halal is a comprehensive Islamic term encompassing not only the matters of food and drink, but all other matters of daily life. Islam being the final and perfect way of life for humanity, it supersedes all the previously revealed religions including Christianity and Judaism. The rituals in all matters were perfected by God (al-Quran 5:3)

According to Islamic Jurisprudence, no one except God can change forbidden (Haram) things into lawful (halal) for vice-versa. It is forbidden for people to change the lawful (Halal) things into unlawful (Haram), or vice-versa.

Halal is a unique Islamic concept and eating zabiha (Islamically slaughtered) meat is a distinguishing part of a Muslim's identity as expressed by Prophet Muhammad, peace and blessings be upon him.

Salient differences between kosher and halal are:

Islam prohibits all intoxicating alcohols, liquors, wines and drugs. kashrut regards all wines kosher. Hence food items and drinks showing the kosher symbol containing alcohol are not halal.

Gelatin is considered Kosher by many Jews regardless of its source of origin. If the gelatin is prepared from non-zabiha, Muslims consider it haram (prohibited). Hence foods items such as marshmallows, yogurt, etc., showing kosher symbols are not always halal.

Enzymes (irrespective of their sources even from non-kosher animals) in cheese making are considered mere secretion(pirsah b'almah) according to some kashrut organizations, hence all cheeses are considered kosher. Muslims look for the source of the enzyme in cheese making. If it is coming from the swine, it is considered haram(forbidden). Hence cheeses showing kosher symbols may not be halal.

Jews do not pronounce the name of God on each animal while slaughtering. They feel that uttering the name of God, out of context, is wasteful. Muslims on the other hand pronounce the name of Allah on all animals while slaughtering.

The salient differences between kosher and halal have been illustrated so that Muslim consumers can distinguish halal from kosher.

Muslims in non-Muslim countries should strive to follow the Islamic injunctions in their diet (as well as in every walk of life) and establish their own businesses and institutions to cater to the needs of the Muslim Ummah. By doing so, not only the identity of the Muslims will be preserved, but they will be recognized and respected for their beliefs and practices.

Differences within Kosher:

There are different sects within Judaism and there are several hundred Jewish Kosher authorities in the US who certify Kosher based on extremely liberal to extremely conservative rules. Therefore it is difficult to come up with one uniform opinion regarding Kosher practices. A symbols "k" for kosher is not governed by any authority. Any manufacturer can use it at will. A website guiding Jews about Kosher states "it may take a great deal of detective work to ascertain the standard that a particular rabbi is using." For this reason many Muslims when buying anything kosher look for "u" in a circle which are more conservative Kosher symbol.

Based on the book, Islamic Dietary Concepts And Practices by M.M. Hussaini


Remember!!, Halal can be eaten by non Muslims, however Muslims will only eat Halal Only.

Halal Assurance System

Halal Assurance SystemProduction of halal products requires certain Halal raw materials, Halal additives, Halal process, Halal handling, and Halal transportation to meet the condition of the term halal. On top of that, the industry should have a effiicient management to oversee the products meet the Islamic Law and ensure zero mistake can be occur during the production. The system called Halal Assurance System (HAS) proposed by Apriyantono (2001) can be adopted. This system consists of 5 important components:

1. Standard of halal management and halal system. Halal management is managing of all the function and activities necessary to able to achieve the objective of halal products. Halal system is defined as the organisational structure, responsibilities, procedures, activities, capabilities and resources that together aim to ensure that products, processes or service will satisfy stated or implied aims, i.e., production of halal products.

2. Standard audit of halal system is conducted to:

2.1 Determine the conformity of halal system elements with specified requirements.

2.2 Determine the effectiveness of the implemented halal system in meeting specified objectives.

2.3 Verify that non-conformities identified in a previous audit have been rectified as agreed.

3. Haram Analysis Critical Control Point (HrACCP). A system which could point out the important points where haram or najees (najasa) materials may contaminate halal materials, as well as avoiding haram materials to be used for the production of halal foods. There are 6 elements which go to make an HrACCP system:

3.1 Identify and assess all haram and najees materials.

3.2 Identify the critical control points.

3.3 Establish the monitoring procedures.

3.4 Establish corrective actions.

3.5 Establish a record-keeping system.

3.6 Establish verification procedures.

4. Halal guideline. This consists of general regulation of halal foods and standards procedures of production of halal foods. In addition, specific regulation and procedures may be added, for example, in the case of food additive production.

5. Halal database. It consists of list of materials used for food production; information of the source and preparation of each material is mentioned in the list as well as its halal status and other important information.

To ensure that the industry has met the halal requirements in producing halal foods, especially those that would like to put a halal logo in its packaging, the industry must ask help from a reliance and acceptable halal officially recognised certifying organisation. The halal officially recognised certifying organisation ( eg. Jakim )will then audit and certify its products, raw materials, additives, production facilities, administration and management. Once the industry has got a halal officially recognised certificate for its malaysia halal products, it can be used as a formal basis for applying a halal logo. This halal officially recognised certificate can also be used to declare that the malaysia halal product are halal and hence the malaysia halal products can be imported to Muslim countries or sold to Muslim consumers.

Words of WisdomWords of Wisdom - Good Intention and naive doesn't mean HALAL A must know for a excited and ambition Halalpreneur before emabarking to the trade of Halal. Remember : Exploring Halal, Understanding Halal, Knowing Halal, Perceiving Halal, Exercising it and lastly Practise Halal.

Thursday, 25 September 2008


FAKTA-FAKTA MENGENAI SUSU DAN HASILAN SUSU DARI NEGARA CHINA 1. Apakah Melamine? Jawapan : Melamine adalah bahan organik yang antara kegunaannya ialah dalam pembuatan plastik, bahan pembersih, gam, baja dan lainlain. Melamine adalah bahan yang tidak dibenarkan di dalam semua makanan. 2. Mengapa Melamine dikesan di dalam susu dan hasilan susu? Jawapan : Ia ditambah secara sengaja untuk meningkatkan tahap nitrogen bagi mematuhi standard kandungan protein dalam susu. Penambahan Melamine dalam makanan adalah menyalahi undang-undang di bawah Akta Makanan 1983 dan Peraturan- Peraturan Makanan 1985. 3. Apakah kesan Melamine kepada manusia? Jawapan : Kesan melamine secara langsung mengakibatkan iritasi apabila terhidu dan bersentuhan dengan kulit atau mata. Pengambilan melamine melalui makanan boleh mengakibatkan  kerosakan pada sistem pembiakan  pembentukkan batu karang dalam ginjal dan pundi kencing. Ini boleh mengakibatkan kegagalan ginjal terutamanya kepada bayi Sebagai langkah proaktif, Kementerian Kesihatan ingin menasihati semua pakar perubatan dan pegawai perubatan agar sentiasa berjaga-jaga dan memantau gejala masalah buah pinggang seperti bayi menangis tanpa sebab ketika kencing, kencing berdarah, dan tekanan darah tinggi pada bayi. Keadaan ini jarang 4 berlaku dan sekiranya mengesyaki gejala ini di kalangan kanakkanak perlulah melaporkan kepada KKM dengan segera. 4. Adakah susu tepung formula bayi, dan susu dari Negara China di bawa masuk ke Malaysia? Jawapan : Malaysia tidak mengimport sebarang susu tepung formula bayi dan susu dari Negara China. 5. Adakah hasilan susu dari Negara China di bawa masuk ke Malaysia? Malaysia ada mengimport hasilan susu dari Negara China, walaubagaimanapun, bekalan susu diimport dari Australia, New Zealand, Nertherland dan Amerika Syarikat. Ini merupakan syarat oleh Jabatan Perkhidmatan Veterinar dalam mengeluarkan permit bagi hasilan susu yang diimport dari Negara China oleh kerana risiko penyakit kaki dan mulut pada ternakan lembu di negara tersebut. 6. Apakah yang dimaksudkan susu dan hasilan susu? Jawapan : Merujuk kepada Akta Makanan 1983 dan Peraturan-Peraturan Makanan 1985, susu didefinisikan sebagai susu biasa yang bersih dan segar daripada lembu, kerbau, kambing atau biri-biri. Hasilan susu didefinisikan sebagai apa-apa produk yang dihasilkan atau disediakan daripada susu. Contohnya: i. Susu skim (susu tanpa lemak) ii. Susu pasteur iii. Susu UHT iv. Susu berperisa v. Susu tepung krim vi. Susu tepung skim vii. Susu sejat viii. Susu pekat manis ix. Mentega x. Keju xi. Ais krim xii. Yogurt xiii. Ghee (minyak sapi) 5 7. Apakah peranan anda sebagai pengguna dalam hal ini? Jawapan : Pengguna diminta mendapatkan maklumat terkini dari Kementerian Kesihatan Malaysia (website/telefon/kenyataan akhbar). Pengguna dinasihatkan membaca label makanan sebelum membeli. Sekiranya pengguna masih ragu-ragu, sila hubungi Bahagian Keselamatan dan Kualiti Makanan, Kementerian Kesihatan Malaysia di talian 03- 88833655/0388833503 untuk membuat aduan dan mendapatkan maklumat lanjut. 8. Apakah peranan anda sebagai penjual dalam hal ini? Jawapan : Anda dinasihatkan untuk menyemak inventori produk jualan anda dan jika didapati produk makanan yang mempunyai susu sebagai salah satu ramuan dan diimport dari Negara China, segera keluarkan produk makanan tersebut dari premis. Anda juga diminta untuk menghubungi Pejabat Kesihatan Daerah (PKD) dan Jabatan Kesihatan Negeri (JKN) untuk mendapatkan maklumat selanjutnya. Anda juga boleh mendapatkan maklumat terkini dari Kementerian Kesihatan Malaysia (website- http// / telefon /kenyataan akhbar) 9. Apakah peranan anda sebagai pengimport dalam hal ini? Jawapan : Anda dinasihatkan tidak mengimport susu tepung formula bayi, susu dan hasilan susu dari Negara China buat masa sekarang ini. Sekiranya produk makanan tersebut telah berada dalam simpanan, anda dinasihatkan jangan menjual dan melaporkan kepada PKD dan JKN yang berhampiran untuk tindakan selanjutnya.

Kenyataan Akbar : Melamine

KENYATAAN AKHBAR SIRI KE EMPAT MAKLUMAT TERKINI BERKAITAN DENGAN PRODUK DARI NEGARA CHINA YANG DICEMARI DENGAN MELAMINE Kementerian Kesihatan Malaysia (KKM) ingin memaklumkan kepada pengguna berkaitan soalan yang kerap ditanya (Frequently Asked Questions - FAQ) berhubung dengan isu pencemaran melamine dalam susu dan hasilan susu dari China sebagai maklumat tambahan seperti di Lampiran 1. Status terkini tindakan KKM dalam menangani isu pencemaran melamine dalam hasilan susu KKM akan mengeluarkan senarai produk makanan yang tidak terlibat dengan pencemaran melamine seperti di Lampiran 2. Senarai ini akan dikemaskini dari masa ke semasa. KKM ingin memaklumkan pengimport ataupun agen yang mengimport susu dan hasilan susu dari China untuk menghentikan pengimportan dengan serta merta. Sekiranya produk makanan tersebut masih berada dalam simpanan, pengimport / agen dinasihatkan supaya tidak menjual dan melaporkan kepada Pejabat Kesihatan Daerah atau Jabatan Kesihatan Negeri yang berhampiran untuk tindakan selanjutnya. KKM juga menasihatkan penjual untuk menyemak inventori produk jualan bagi mengenalpasti produk makanan yang mempunyai susu sebagai salah satu ramuan yang diimport dari China supaya segera mengeluarkan produk makanan tersebut dari premis masing-masing. Penjual juga boleh menghubungi Pejabat Kesihatan Daerah atau Jabatan Kesihatan Negeri yang berhampiran untuk tindakan selanjutnya. KKM ingin menasihatkan pengguna untuk tidak menerima sebarang susu dan hasilan susu dari negara China yang diberikan secara percuma sempena musim perayaan ini. Sekiranya pengguna masih ragu-ragu mengenai status keselamatan makanan di pasaran, sila hubungi Bahagian Keselamatan dan Kualiti Makanan, KKM di talian 03-88833655 / 03-88833503 untuk mendapatkan maklumat lanjut. Pengarah Bahagian Keselamatan dan Kualiti Makanan Kementerian Kesihatan Malaysia 23 September 2008

Tuesday, 16 September 2008

Sama-samalah kita berbuka puasa&bersahur dengan sumber rezki yang halal ............. & pasti kehalalannya...